Intersections of Personalized Learning



Digital Footprint

My google search of my name always produces anxiety, because I know that who I am googling can’t be confused with anyone else.  There is no one else named with my name and very few people with my last name in the United States.  I am online often and regularly find bits and pieces about my life online, some that I knew about and some not so much.  Most of it has to do with races that I have run (not great times, but I’m over that), a few about interviews that I have done about building our family through international adoption, and quite a few things about teaching positions and directorships that I have held.  Most of it is accurate (albeit, old and inconsequential) and a little of it is odd (student hosted activity pages for organizations I have directed.)

My digital footprint will increase as time goes on and I am always looking for ways to manage it, if in fact something odd or uncomfortable starts to develop.

5 Easy Ways to Build Your Digital Reputation“:  by Fauzia Burke

Burke’s article talks about ways to not only keep updated on what your digital footprint looks like, but includes some ways to alert you if in fact, there is something you are not excited about having out there.  She cited several new-to-me resources: Addictomatic and Social Mention, for sites to monitor your digital reputation.  Additionally, she makes several positive points about building relationships with the people who you interact with online and developing a learning strategy for  yourself to keep ahead of new advances in online activities. 

Her most thoughtful point seems to be about “setting goals” for what you want your digital footprint to look like.  Make sure you are creating a reputation that you are pleased with in the same way you work to preserve your ethics offline.

The second article published through a collection of blogs through the Harvard Law School, is the Digital Natives Blog.  “The Permanent Record: Reputation Management for Teens” talks about setting goals and not using full names.  The tone is dissimilar from the Fauzia article, in that it encourages more anonymity, but uses many of the same recommendations for creating safe standards for internet use and digital reputations.

End Note:  I used several sites beyond Google to search more of the social networks for my name. It was nice to know that I found nothing!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * ntycast says:

    Try.

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 4 months ago
  2. * Fauzia Burke says:

    Thanks for the plug. Glad the article was helpful.

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 4 months ago


Leave a Reply

